April 17, 2024

How to Get a Motorcycle Driver’s License in Arkansas

Arkansas Motorcycle Driver’s License

Arkansas Motorcycle Driver's License

Imagine yourself cruising down the sunny roadways of Arkansas on a motorcycle. Gliding through Ozark or Ouachita on a cool autumn day or riding out to Mineral Springs!

Well, if you are looking for a fun and thrilling adventure with your motorcycle be sure first that it’s legal. You can apply for a motorcycle driver’s permit and license at any OMV office in Arkansas and here are some key things you need to know.

Basic Requirements for the License

New applicants for motorcycle permit must complete the following requirements:

  • Must be at least 16 years old.
  • Applicants under 18 must provide a parent consent form from a parent or guardian.
  • Visit your local OMV office.
  • Take the written test. Read the driver’s manual.
  • Pay an application fee.
  • Pass the vision test.

To apply for a motorcycle license, applicants must:

  • Contact your local OMV office and arrange for a motorcycle skills test. The state may waive your road test if you successfully completed a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course within 90 days.
  • Bring a legally registered and operating motorcycle when you take the skills test.
  • Pay an application fee.

Arkansas Motorcycle Licenses

Class M License

This license is a non-restricted license which allows holders to operate a motorcycle on public roadways. The license is issued to applicants 16 years old or older that have previously possessed an instruction permit. The instruction permit will prove the completion of knowledge, vision and practical skills test.

Class MD License

This license is issued to applicants of motorcycle driver’s license in Arkansas between 14 and 16 years old. This is a restricted motorcycle license that allows the holder to operate motorcycles displacing 250cc or less, must not carry passengers and must be under direct supervision of a parent or guardian.

Arkansas Motorcycle Regulations

A two-wheeled vehicle is more affected by road conditions than a four-wheeled vehicle so it is important that riders are constantly aware of conditions such as the weight, speed and surfaces. They should know how such conditions affect balance and control of their motorcycle.

The Arkansas Motorcycle Regulations include:

Eye Protection-all drivers and passengers are required to wear eye protection such as goggles, glasses and face shield.

Helmets-It is under the law that those under 21 years old shall wear helmets.

Lights- Both headlight and tail-light must be on whenever the motorcycle is operating.

Passengers- The vehicle must be equipped with footrests and handholds for passengers. However, only one passenger is allowed per vehicle.

When you are sharing the road remember that other drivers have difficulty seeing motorcycles because they are smaller compared to cars. Motorcycles also accelerate and stop differently than cars and trucks therefore try to be noticeable by wearing bright colors and make use of your lights.

Ride safe.  Ride legal.  Ride.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *