April 17, 2024

How to Get a Motorcycle Driver’s License in Florida

Florida Motorcycle Driver’s License

Florida Motorcycle Driver's License

For those who want to legally ride a motorcycle, the State of Florida requires new motorcyclist (regardless of age) to take and pass the Basic Rider Course through the Florida Rider Training Program before they can get a motorcycle only license or have the motorcycle endorsement on their driver’s license.

There are Basic Rider Course sponsors and teachers available online and once you successfully completed the course, they will pass your results electronically to the department records. It is then that you will be processed for a motorcycle endorsement.  See related post – “Motorcycle Riding Schools-Learn How to Ride a Motorcycle in Florida“.

There are two types of motorcycle driver’s licenses in Florida. You are required to have a motorcycle endorsement on your driver license or a motorcycle only license if you wish to operate any two or three wheel motorcycle whose engine is more than 50 cc.

Basic Requirements for the License

If you plan to get a motorcycle endorsement, you have to:

  • Hold a Class E license or higher or you were able to meet the requirements for a Class E license.
  • Complete a motorcycle safety course especially the Basic Rider Course.
  • Or provide an out-of-state license with a motorcycle endorsement with an exception of Alabama.

If you want to get a motorcycle only license:

  • Must be at least 16 years old and have the held a learner’s permit for a year prior to the issuance of a Class E motorcycle only license and with no traffic convictions.
  • Must complete the approved motorcycle safety course.
  • If you are 18 years or more, pass the vision, road sign and road rule examination.

More things to Consider

  • Now that you know the different requirements for motorcycle licenses, you have to prepare your papers before you head to the local DMV office to get the motorcycle license test. The office will look for important proof or documentation about your identity and residency before you will be given an endorsement.
  • Once you earn you Class M endorsement at your driver’s license, remember that the safe operation of a motorcycle requires practiced skill, knowledge and respectful understanding of the different limitations of the machine as well as the environment. Take the necessary caution when on the road and always have the safety gears with you.
  • Just like in most states, Florida has Helmet Laws that you have to follow or else law enforcements may stop you if you are not wearing a helmet. But if you are 21 years old and are covered by an insurance policy with at least $10,000 medical benefits, you will be exempted.

Getting a motorcycle driver’s license in Florida is very easy as long as you follow the right procedures and provide the necessary papers and requirements. Once you have your license, you are now free to experience an exciting ride down the state’s roadways and streets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *