Idaho Motorcycle Driver’s License
Riding a motorcycle on the open road is a thrilling adventure. However, you won’t have much fun for too long if you don’t ride safely and held a motorcycle driver’s license. You can apply for a motorcycle driver’s license and permit at any DMV office in Idaho.
Just like any other state, you have to apply first for a motorcycle permit before you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement. It is a must that you have an Idaho class A, B, C, or D driver’s license in order to be eligible.
Basic Requirements for the License
Applicants who are over 18 years old and wants to get a motorcycle permit must need to do the following:
- Complete the application form and pass the original copy on the DMV office in person.
- Have your picture taken and give a thumb print.
- Pay an application which costs #3 for the written exam and $11.50 for the instruction permit.
- Pass the vision test.
- Pass the signs and traffic laws examination.
- Book for an appointment for the written examination at your local DMV office.
For new applicants between 15 and 18 years old:
- Must comply with the requirements given above.
- Present proof that you have finished a driver’s education and driver’s training program.
- Provide proof of identification such as birth date and legal status documentation.
- Present your full name and social security number.
A motorcycle instruction permit will allow an Idaho driver’s license holders with Class A, B, C or D licenses to practice riding. In order to get a permit, you must pass the written knowledge test. The state of Idaho will waive the one-time motorcycle endorsement fee if you add it to your valid driver’s license during the 180 days instruction period.
Instruction permit holders have to follow the following restrictions:
- Riding before the sun comes up or after the sun goes down are not allowed.
- Riding on the freeway is prohibited.
- No riding with passengers.
Aside from an instruction permit and motorcycle driver’s license, you also have to apply for a motorcycle license. Applicants who are under 21 years old must:
- Complete a motorcycle driver training course given by Idaho STAR (Skills Training Advantage for Riders). It is a program incorporated within the Idaho Department of Education that offers classes for those who either want to learn how to ride a motorcycle or to improve their skills.
- Present the CHP course certificate at your local DMV office then take the skills test given by authorized private testers.
Applicants of motorcycle permit who are over 21 years old must:
- Complete a motorcycle driver training course.
- Present your course certificate at the local DMV office within a year of completing the program.
- Set an appointment at your local DMV office to get the motorcycle driving test.
- Pass the motorcycle driving test.
Avoiding the Skills Test
Once you have your Idaho driver’s license then successfully completed a state-approved motorcycle rider training course which is a requirement for applicants who are younger than 21, and passed the motorcycle written knowledge and skills test, as well as paid all the applicable fees, then you will receive your motorcycle driver’s license at last!