How to Get a Motorcycle Driver’s License in Maryland

Maryland Motorcycle Driver’s License

Under the laws of Maryland, the process of getting a motorcycle driver’s license varies considerably depending on your age, current license and whether you have held a motorcycle license in the past. In order to legally operate a motorcycle, the MVA in Maryland requires all motorists and operators to have a motorcycle driver’s license.

To obtain a full motorcycle license, you have to follow the key steps listed below:

Complete a Motorcycle Safety Course

If you are less than 18 years old, you are required to complete a motorcycle safety course which is one of the basic rider courses offered through the Maryland Motorcycle Safety Program. If you are 18 years old and older, you are not required to complete the course but you are encouraged.  IF you successfully completed a course and have a valid certificate of completion, you will not be required to:

  • Obtain a learner’s permit
  • Take the knowledge test
  • Take the skills test to add the Class M to your current Maryland Driver’s license

Note: A Maryland Motorcycle Safety Program certificate of completion is valid for 6 months only.

Complete a Driver Education Course

If you are applying for a GLS license, regardless of your age, you must take a driver education course which is offered through a Maryland MVA licensed and approved certified Maryland driver education school. Out-of-state driver’s education certifications are not accepted by the MVA. You must also obtain a Class C learner’s permit in order to register and complete the required driver’s education course.

Obtain a Noncommercial Learner’s Permit

If you are applying for your first GLS license, regardless of your age, you must get a Type I Learner’s Permit for both Class C and Class M license even if you have successfully completed a motorcycle safety course offered through the Maryland Motorcycle Safety Program. But if you want to add a motorcycle (Class M) license to your driver’s license, you must obtain a Type II learner’s permit regardless of your age unless you have successfully completed safety course and have a valid certificate of completion from Maryland motorcycle safety program.

Note: If you currently have a motorcycle license or endorsement from another state, or have held a motorcycle driver’s license or endorsement in the past, you will not be required to obtain a learner’s permit unless you are unable to present proof of the motorcycle licensure. In this case, you are required to obtain a learner’s permit. Aside from that, in order to get both Type 1 and Type 11 permit, you have to pass the vision requirements and to pass the knowledge test.

Obtain a Provisional License

If you are required to obtain a Type I learners permit, or have less than 18 months of driving experience, you must get a provisional license before receiving a full license. You have to complete the following requirements:

For more information, see Obtaining a Provisional License.

Obtain a Full Motorcycle (Class M) License

The MVA automatically converts your Maryland provisional license to a full license if you ride “convection-free” for 18 months. But for inexperienced drivers you must:

For more information, see Obtaining a Full Noncommercial License.

MotoSchoolCafe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *