North Carolina Motorcycle Driver’s License
Residents of North Carolina can get their motorcycle driver’s license at any local DMV office in North Carolina. According to the North Carolina DMV guidelines, anyone who drives a motorcycle must have a motorcycle license or a motorcycle instruction permit. All applicants must be of right age and will have to pass all the requirements and test before they can get their regular driver’s license.
The state of North Carolina offers two classes of motorcycle driver’s license; Class M1 and Class M2. The Class M1 license will allow you to operate any two-wheel motorcycle and any motorized vehicle in Class M2 while the Class M2 allows you to operate any motorized bicycle, moped or any bicycle with an attached motor. For more information, refer to Motorcycle Driver Handbook.
Basic Requirements for the License
But before you apply for a motorcycle driver’s license you must do one of the following:
- Applicants under 21 years of age must complete a motorcycle rider training course administered by the California Highway Patrol and must provide certificate of Completion of Motorcycle Training to the Department of Motor Vehicles. If you currently have a California Driver’s License then you are not required to take the motorcycle driving test at DMV.
- Applicants who are over 21 years of age may either choose to complete the courses by the California Highway Patrol and provide the certificate of OR schedule an appointment at DMV to get the driving test. You will be given three chances to pass the test.
Pass that knowledge test with our custom practice exam! Click Here for more info.
For Applicants of Class M1 or M2 License
Visit the nearest DMV office and set up an appointment.
- Fill up application form DL44 and submit an original copy because copies are not accepted.
- Have your picture taken and give a thumb print.
- Pay the application fee
- Pass the vision test.
- Pass the traffic laws and signs test.
To get a Learner’s Permit:
- An applicant that is at least 16 years old but less than 18 years old must possess a full provisional license issued by the DMV.
- Must have a parent or guardian’s signature on the application form.
- An applicant that is 18 years of age and older must possess a license issued by the DMV.
- The Motorcycle Learner’s Permit will authorize a person to operate a motorcycle without a passenger.
- Required testing includes vision, traffic signs and motorcycle knowledge test.
- The permit is valid for 18 months.
Aside from getting a motorcycle driver’s license, you also have to apply for a motorcycle endorsement. To obtain a motorcycle license, you must:
- Possess a full provisional license, and a regular or commercial license.
- Have had a permit for at least 6 months.
- Make an appointment for a motorcycle skills test at any DMV office. The test is given on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at 8:30 AM and 2:30 PM.
Once you passed all the licensing requirements, and after you pass the test, you will be given a motorcycle endorsement on your motorcycle driver’s license. You are then free to ride your motorcycle anywhere in the state of North Carolina. However, remember that to have a safe operation of the motorcycle you must respect and understand the limitations imposed by the operator, the machine and the environment.