February 29, 2024

How to Get a Motorcycle Driver’s License in Tennessee

Tennessee Motorcycle Driver’s License

Tennessee Motorcycle Driver's License

To get a motorcycle driver’s license in Tennessee, you need to have a better understanding of the different motorcycle licenses offered by the state. All applicants can apply at your local driver’s license station and present the same documentation required as when applying for a regular driver’s license.

Applicants who are younger than 18 years old must provide Minor/Teenage Affidavit and Cancellation Form.

Motorcycle Licenses in Tennessee

1. Class P-M (Learner’s Permit)

This is a special permit that allows minors who are 15 years of age to operate a motorcycle after completing the requirements and by following the restrictions given below:

  • Must be limited to a motorcycle with 50 cc.
  • Not allowed to carry passengers.
  • Must be restricted from driving on interstate highways or roadways otherwise marked.
  • Operation of the motorcycle should be daylight hours only.
  • Must be within 20 mile radius of the driver’s home.
  • After reaching the age of 16, permit holders may return to their local driver license center to exchange their permit for a motorcycle license to retain the privilege to operate a motorcycle.
  • The permit will be valid for one year from date of issuance.

2. Class M (Motorcycle-only)

This is a license that will allow the holder that is 16 years old or older the privilege to drive any two or three wheel vehicle of more than 125cc. Applicants must pass the vision screening, knowledge and on-cycle skills test. However, if the applicant does not already have a valid Tennessee driver’s license for a passenger vehicle, the knowledge test for Class D will be required.

3. Class M (Motorcycle-Secondary)

This is a permit added in the secondary position on a valid type of license that will allow the holder of 16 years old or older the privilege of operating a motorcycle in addition to other vehicles. To get the license, applicants must pass the driver examination that includes a vision screening, written and road skills test. This license will expire when the primary license expires.

4. Class M Limited (Motor-Driven Cycle)

Issued to person 15 years of age and is valid for four years. Applicants must:

  • Operate only a two or three-wheeled vehicle with 15 cc.
  • Operate only within 20 miles of your home.
  • Operate only between 4 a.m and 8 p.m.
  • Should comply with all restrictions given by the examiner.

Motorized Bicycle

In order to operate a motorized bicycle doesn’t require you to have any special license or endorsement bur you must possess an operator license. Applicants who are between 15 and 16 years old without a valid driver’s license may apply for a restricted license.

Basic Requirements for the License

Applicants who want to apply for Class M/XM license should get and study the Motorcycle Operator Manualwhich is available at all driver license service centers anywhere in the state of Tennessee. Any operator of motorcycle or motor driven cycle who is 15 years of age is required to obtain a special permit allowing him to operate with certain restrictions. Anyone with a valid Tennessee driver’s license may operate a motorized bicycle with 50cc or less and no endorsement required.

Pass that knowledge test with our custom practice exam! Click Here for more info.

  • Vision screening
  • Motorcycle written test
  • Motorcycle pre-trip inspection
  • Motorcycle skills test

If you do not have a Class D license, your examination will include:

  • Road knowledge test ( Study the regular Tennessee Driver Study Guide)
  • Vision screening
  • Motorcycle rules of the road knowledge test.
  • Motorcycle pre-trip inspection.
  • Motorcycle road test

Pass all required tests and you’ll be eligible for a motorcycle driver’s license in Tennessee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *