West Virginia Motorcycle Driver’s License
Are you itching to hop on a motorcycle and take a ride down West Virginias’ public roads and highways? If yes, make sure first that you have your motorcycle driver’s license or endorsement. You can apply for a motorcycle driver’s license and permit at any DMV office near you.
Basic Requirements for the License
The state of West Virginia wants every motorcyclist who wants to operate on the public roads to have obtained either a motorcycle endorsement (F) on their driver’s license or a Class F motorcycle-only driver’s license. In order to be eligible for a motorcycle endorsement (F) on your existing driver’s license you must:
- Be at least 16 years of age.
- Already have a Class E driver’s license.
- Pass a knowledge and on-cycle skills test. Study the Motorcycle Operator’s Manual (PDF).
- Complete Level II GDL before receiving a motorcycle instruction permit. This is a must to applicants younger than 18 years old.
If you are 18 years old and plans to get a motorcycle driver’s license you have to obtain a motorcycle permit also with the following requirements:
- Complete the application form and submit the form in person at any DMV office.
- Have your picture taken and give a thumb print.
- Pay the required fee. The endorsement fee cost $1 per year while the Class F license costs $3 to $5 depending on your age.
- Pass the signs and traffic and laws examination. You have three chances to pass the exam.
- Set up an appointment with your local DMV office to write your examination.
- New applicants between 15 and 18 years old must complete the requirements given above and the following:
- Provide a parent or guardian signature on your form.
- Present proof that you have completed the driver’s education and training. You can present your West Virginia driver’s license. See Basic Rider Course Information.
- Provide proof of first-time applicant.
- Provide proper identification.
- Present your social security number.
The learner’s permit will allow you to practice driving a motorcycle in preparation for the road skills test. However the Division of Motor Vehicles has imposed restriction on the learner’s permit to assure the safe operation of motor vehicles. The Division of Motor Vehicles in West Virginia issue a restricted license with the restriction indicated on the driver’s license and violation of this restriction will be a serious offense and could result to suspension or revocation of your driving privilege.
Avoiding the Skills Test
One requirement to obtain a motorcycle driver’s license in West Virginia is to get a Motorcycle Safety program offered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. The courses are taught by MSF-certified instructors and are approved by the state. You can either take a Basic Rider Course which is a 15-hour course or you can take the Experienced Rider Course which is a one-day course but only for those riders who are more experienced. Graduates of the program are exempted from taking the state riding skills test.
Once you completed all the licensing requirements and passed the entire test, you are now eligible motorcycle endorsement or motorcycle driver’s license.