Wyoming Motorcycle Driver’s License
Wyoming is a fantastic state for riding – famous for its mountains and the winding roads, mot to mention how well motorcycles fit Wyoming’s frontier spirit and cowboy culture. But don’t be a renegade; before you join the “club” get a motorcycle driver’s license.
Basic Requirements for the License
To obtain a motorcycle driver’s license or a Class IM license in Wyoming, you will have to get a learner’s permit first. It applies to learning how to ride motorcycles and ATVs. To get an instruction permit, complete the following requirements:
- Provide a consent form signed by parents or guardians (applicants under 18 years of age)
- Undergo a vision test.
- Provide a birth certificate
- Complete and pass the written test with a pass mark of at least 80%.
- Pay the required fees
If you are applying for a motorcycle license, you have to complete the following requirements:
- Enroll and finish the Basic Rider Education.
- If you are 18 years old or below, you need to provide consent signed by a parent or guardian.
- Provide proof of identity.
- Complete the written test with at least 80 % passing mark.
- Complete the skills test.
- Pay the fees.
Note: The written test includes questions about Wyoming traffic laws, road signs and rules of safe driving.
The Basic Rider Course is developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation and is designed for those have little or no riding experience. There are experienced riders who also take the course to improve their skills. The course contains 20 hours of classroom and on-cycle instruction. Classes start on Friday evening and ends until Sunday afternoon. To qualify for the course, you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Have parents’ written permission (under 18 years of age)
- Be mentally and physically capable of being licensed as a motorcycle operator in Wyoming.
- Be able to ride a bicycle.
- Wear proper protective gear during the on-cycle instruction including:
- Helmet that meets the U.S DOT standards
- Eye protection like face shield and glasses
- Over-the-ankle sturdy footwear
- Long sleeved shirt or jacket
- Denim pants
- Full fingered leather gloves
Before heading to the DOT office, make sure that you have the following required documents to get your motorcycle license:
- Certified Birth Certificate issued in any state
- Driver’s license or instruction permit
- U.S passport
- US military card
- Wyoming ID card
- Social security number
- Marriage certificate
- Parental consent form if under 18 years old.
Once you completed the licensing requirements given above and pass the important test, you will be eligible for a motorcycle driver’s license or endorsement.